Return to Headlines

YWLA senior wins 3rd place in “I Voted” Sticker Contest

Young Women’s Leadership Academy senior Rebecca Lopez won third place in the 2024 “I Voted” Sticker Contest sponsored by the El Paso County Elections Department. Other winners were Denisse I. Villalobos-Estrada from Fabens High School, who won first place, and Pablo A. Alonso from Cathedral High School won second place.


The winning design will be distributed to voters at all Early Voting Locations and Election Day Vote Centers during the 2024 elections. The election department received 325 entries and narrowed them down to 10 finalists. Judging was based on the artistic skill, theme and uniqueness of the design.


The contest was judged by Anne Hussmann Mitchell, Founder and Owner of So El Paso; Claudia S. Preza, Assistant Curator for El Paso Museum of Art; and Tino Ortega, Local Artist and Muralist.


The El Paso County Elections Department invited local high school students to participate in the third edition of the El Paso County “I Voted” sticker design contest in October. The contest was open to all high school students in the county.


“The El Paso County Elections Department was excited to continue working with high school students and encouraging their participation in the electoral process,” Lisa Wise, El Paso County Elections Administrator.


All three winners will be honored and recognized on Monday, December 4, 2023, by the El Paso County Commissioners Court.