Return to Headlines

Ysleta ISD employees inducted into the Women’s Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame Eleven El Paso area women, including two YISD employees – East Point Elementary School Principal Dana Boyd and Partners In Education Specialist Bonny Schulenburg – were inducted into the 2017 Hall of Fame for the El Paso Commission for Women, an organization committed to recognizing and honoring the achievements of women in El Paso County. Both were nominated for their significant and long-term impacts on the El Paso community, either professionally and/or as a volunteer.

East Point Elementary School Principal Dana Boyd was inducted for her outstanding commitment to Education. She was named the 2016 Texas National Distinguished Principal award by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA). She taught first, second, and third grades before becoming a principal and was selected as Texas Teacher of the Year in 2007. Boyd has a B.A. and a M.A. in Educational Leadership from the University of Texas at El Paso and was a participant in the Art of Leadership Institute at Harvard Graduate School.

Schulenburg, a veteran public relations professional, was inducted for achievements in Public Relations. She is the Partners in Education Specialist for Ysleta ISD and is responsible for the district’s home webpage, special events and social media. She was Executive Director for the Ysleta Education Foundation. Ms. Schulenburg has a B.A in Communications /Media Advertising from the University of Texas at El Paso. She is past president of the Public Relations Association of the Southwest and is the current Treasurer of the UTEP Alumni Association.

Both women were honored with a proclamation/resolution at El Paso County Commissioners Court and El Paso City Council. In addition, the star on mountain was lit in their honor on April 23, 2017.

The El Paso Women’s Hall of Fame was established in 1989 by the El Paso Commission for Women to honor those outstanding women for their long-term contributions. The El Paso Commission for Women is composed of El Paso citizens who are willing to pursue equal rights and responsibilities for all women. Membership is open to any individual supportive of this purpose.