Return to Headlines

Eastwood High School Trooper class of 2020 has announced Valedictorian and Salutatorian

Eastwood HS Valedictorian and Salutatorian Graduates across the country are commemorating their achievements in a different way this year and Ysleta ISD is no exception. Eastwood High School Principal David Boatright has announced the Valedictorian and Salutatorian for the class of 2020.

Congratulations to Eastwood’s Valedictorian Sarunas Budreckis and Salutatorian Christian Corral!

Valedictorian Sarunas Budreckis intends to enroll at the University of Texas at Austin where he will pursue a degree in Computer Science. He received scholarships totaling over $850,000 from various schools to include University of Arizona, the University of North Texas, Texas A & M and many more. He was the founder and President of Programming and Game Design club, President of Speech and Debate, Math Club and Lead Programmer for the Eastwood Robotics team. He was a member of Orchestra, Piano, Guitar, Choir, National Honor Society and the Science National Society. Most importantly, he was a National Merit Scholarship Finalist.

Salutatorian Christian Corral plans to also attend the University of Texas at Austin where he will pursue a degree in Kinesiology.  He received scholarships totaling $257,800 dollars from various schools including The University of Texas at El Paso, The University of Oklahoma, New York University, The University of New Mexico and many others. He was a member of the National Honor Society, Science National Honor Society, Spanish National Honor Society and an AP Scholar with Distinction.  He was also a member of the Gymnastics team, a violinist in the Orchestra, a Student Council member, and has volunteered many hours in several organizations in the El Paso area.

In keeping with restrictions issued by Texas Gov. Greg Abbott, Ysleta ISD has announced it will celebrate its Class of 2020 graduates during our hybrid ceremonies which will air on June 13 and 14 on KTSM Channel 9, and also online on, KTSM Facebook Live, and the district’s YouTube channel. Times for each ceremony have yet to be determined, but will be announced in the coming week and posted at and YISD media platforms (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram).

Seniors receiving the respected Trooper Awards are:
Stephanie Alvarado
Sarunas Budreckis
Mitchell Martinez
Jaime Matta
Olivia Neufeld
Paloma Palmer
Isaac Pedregon
Angelina Prado
Lauren Torres
Mateo Zeh