Return to Headlines

Hanks High School and Glen Cove Elementary students honored with President's Award

Hanks High School Interact Club officers Kaylyn Cervantes (President), Judith Olivas (Vice President), Able Sanchez (Secretary), Alexa Heck (Treasurer), Isaac Holguin (Merit Manager), Jaclyn Jaquez (PR), and Sydney Bejarano (Committee Chair) were at the helm of the Interact Club to lead the 22nd annual tradition of Hanksgiving. Each year a new set of officers are tasked with getting the project off the ground and making it a success.

The seven students welcomed the challenge to make things happen. They wrote letters, spoke to businesses to get the program prepped and ready to provide Thanksgiving meals for families in the El Paso community. They also coordinated area feeder schools to participate – a task that takes an enormous amount of organization. The Interact sponsor, Monica Lopez, said they are an amazing group of individuals. Some of them have been doing the project since their freshman year. They continue to come back because of the satisfaction it gives them to give back to others.

After all the planning, the program provided Thanksgiving meals for 540 families. With help from Interact Club members, they also cooked 25 turkeys to prepare 280 individual meals for a local church.  We honor their contribution with the February 2022 President’s Award.

Glen Cove Elementary School 2nd grader Adelynn Acosta is already displaying characteristics of a true Glen Cove Star Scholar. Last winter, she gathered donations of blankets to help those in need around El Paso. This winter Adelynn is helping the homeless by putting together care packages and passing them around our city. She also volunteers with her church to feed the elderly in the Casa De Las Abuelitas program. In addition, Adelynn is part of the Lady Braves t-ball team and along with her teammates collected toys to donate for those in need around the community. Mrs. Laura Vega, Adelynn’s 2nd grade teacher, describes Adelynn as a generous, kind student who is always willing to help in any area needed. We honor her contribution with the February 2022 President’s Award.